Discipling the Body

Mission Accomplished

Leave a comment

36553057

I have always struggled with self-esteem issues; feelings of not feeling good enough, etc, etc. Prompted by a good friend, who reminded me that I have “everything I ever wanted out of life”, I have been reflecting on exactly what those things are. SO, here’s the list I’ve come up with so far:

  1. Get married to a beautiful, intelligent woman
  2. Start a family
  3. Graduate from my undergraduate
  4. Complete a triathlon
  5. Debt-free
  6. Attain ideal weight
  7. Graduate from seminary
  8. Complete an Ironman by the time I’m 40

I have accomplished 1-5. Should get #6 out of the way the end of the year (If my son says it’s okay), and 7 & 8 will take a few more years. I’ve actually done #4 many times now at the Sprint distance, so that goal is well smashed.

So, what exactly am I feeling down about? This was a good perspective shift for me. It is also a good reminder of why we all need awesome friends who can reflect reality back to us.

Leave a Reply

