Discipling the Body

Shall we continue?

Leave a comment

I’m not blogging much these days (thanks for noticing). Some of it is certainly because I have an 8 week old son and am just generally tired, both mentally and physically, but there is more to it than that I think.

Depth
More a long time I’ve asked myself the question, “why do I blog?”. Every so often I come up with an answer, but it doesn’t last for long. I’m generally dissatisfied with the blogosphere. As I’ve given thought to the problem, this feeling I’m having, I think I’ve figured it out: most blogs lack depth, indeed, most are superficial at best. I want depth and that depth tends to come from books. I’m not sure I understand the point of blogging anymore, to be honest.

This doesn’t mean that there aren’t good blogs out there that have significant depth, but I’m not convinced that the blogging format really lends itself to depth and I don’t think this is a good thing. More to the point, if I can’t produce content of a certain depth that offers the kind of insights I would want to read, then what’s the point?

Open Loops
The other issue is that the very idea of “having a blog” implies that I should be writing with some reasonable frequency and that’s just one more thing I “need to do”. I don’t like having open loops and maybe, for now, this is a loop to close.

This isn’t the day to make a decision like this, but I’ll make it soon. Part of me wants to write for the sake of writing, but right now I don’t have the time to write the kind of stuff I want to write, so, if I write just to write, will I be happy about it? I’m not sure. Time will tell and we will see. If you have an opinion either way, I’d be grateful to hear it.

Leave a Reply

