Discipling the Body

Discipling the Body: Inviting Christ into all life

Leave a comment

65cb6659b02df2aed3e7535d919b5610[This is me just after Ash Wednesday service at
St. Paul’s Bloor Street Anglican Church, Toronto, On – 2013]

Welcome to my blog Discipling the Body. This blog is one of two blogs I maintain. The first is a theological/faith oriented blog The Sacramental Nomad. This blog is about life in general.

I’m a married father of one son (with a second on the way) and I work full-time, so I don’t have a lot of time. In fact, I’m writing this at 4:30am on a Monday morning, just to have time to write it. I write about things I enjoy: writing, theology, exercise, personal finance, the arts.

Specifically though I think there is room on the internet for a blog that looks at “life” through a specifically Christian lens. As a Christian, I don’t believe that faith is one aspect of my life, but that my faith must inform every part of my life. Sure, there are parts of my life that are more directly faith related: prayer, attending church, reading Scripture, etc. But when I go for a run, or lift weights, or take in a musical, or listen to a great piece of music, I don’t do that apart from my faith, but rather as an extension of my faith. My faith informs the things I do, how I do them, and what significance I give them.

How does my faith inform my desire to be a triathlete. What do swimming, cycling and running have to do with following Christ? Well, that’s precisely what this blog is going to look at. You’ll share in that discovery as well as following along on my journey accomplish possibly the biggest and hardest goal I’ve ever worked towards.

The Goal: To complete, within the 17 hour official time limit, an Ironman distance triathlon, by the end of the year I turn 40: December 31, 2017.

An Ironman is: Swim 2.4 miles, Bike 112 miles, Run 26.2 miles – all in 17 hours.

So, come along for the ride. Learn about food, fitness, and faith.

Blessings,
Andrew

Leave a Reply

